Posted by: paulaswitzer | August 1, 2011

A Reminder to Slow Down…

One day this last week, I was rushing to the grocery store, in between appointments, to pick up a few items we needed.  I mean I was almost literally running through the store.  As I left the checkout line and headed for the door, an older gentleman was ahead of me, so there was no way to pass him as he was going out the door.

It appeared this man was just getting used to his new prosthetic limb for a recently amputated leg.  He was struggling, gingerly using his walker as he made his way out the door.  It was obvious that this was a new experience for him – he was so totally focused on each small step he took.  It caused me to pause, and to reflect on how thankful I am for my health, and all I have in my life.

Sometimes, God puts in our path something or someone to provide us with a reminder to slow down – to be thankful for what we have, and to love each fellow human being for the gifts they share.  I said a small prayer for this man, giving him strength as he walks his path.

What about you?  Are there parts of your life where slowing down a little could bring gratitude, insight or another perspective?  I know there is for me.  Here’s to taking time to reflect and appreciate all that we have been given.

Leave a Reply

Categories

